Encinitas Advocate writers win more journalism awards

Writers for this newspaper and its sister newspapers recently won 12 journalism awards in the nondaily division of the 2016 San Diego Press Club Excellence in Journalism awards contest.

Jared Whitlock won a first place award (category: Political/Government); Catharine Kaufman won first and second place awards (categories: Food, Health and Medicine); Kristina Houck won second place and two third place awards (categories: Political/Government, Education, Environment); Joe Tash won second and third place awards (categories: Environment, Profile), Lois Alter Mark won a second place award(category: Arts & Entertainment Reporting); Marsha Sutton won a second place award (category: Series); Chis Saur won a third place award (category: Sports); Jeanne McKinney won a third place award (category: Military. She also won a first place award in that category for another publication.)

This newspaper, its sister newspapers and its staff have won numerous national, regional and local awards over the years, including two state first place “Best Lifestyle Coverage” awards and three first place national “General Excellence” awards in previous years.