Incumbents win seats in SDUHSD; EUSD race still close

Encinitas schools will likely stay the course following the Nov. 8 election, though the Encinitas Union School District (EUSD) race won’t be officially decided until the mail and provisional ballots are all counted.

Incumbents carried the day in the San Dieguito Union High School District (SDUHSD) as trustees Beth Hergesheimer and Joyce Dalessandro retained their seats on the board. Among a contested race of five candidates, Hergesheimer received 32.66 percent of the vote and Dalessandro received 31.88 percent.

With another two seats open on the EUSD board — Carol Skiljan did not seek re-election — Patricia S. Sinay has a slim lead in an effort to retain her seat.

On the morning of Nov. 10, challenger Rimga Viskanta, the PTA president at Ocean Knoll, led the race with 26.48 percent (8,020 votes), with Sinay at 25.5 percent. The incumbent led third-place challenger Leslie Schneider by just 120 votes, as Schneider had 25.1 percent (7,601).

Schneider and the fourth candidate, Anne-Katherine Pingree, were vocal opponents of the EUSD board during the recent yoga controversy, and ran on a platform of transparency.

With insurmountable leads in their race, Hergesheimer and Dalessandro will continue to serve as SDUHSD trustees.

Hergesheimer has been on the board since 2004 and currently serves as board president.

“I am very pleased with the election results and definitely feel that the voters of our district have affirmed my/our board work on behalf of the entire SDUHSD community,” Hergesheimer said.

Dalessandro has been a member of the SDUHSD board since 1996 and currently serves as vice president.

“I am so grateful for the dedication, support and encouragement we have received from our whole community. It has been a humbling experience,” Dalessandro said. “It is wonderful to know that our efforts on behalf of all of our students is valued by so many. We will continue to strive to get better and better all the time.”

Hergesheimer and Dalessandro finished ahead of Lucile Hooton Lynch (14.3 percent), Randy Berholtz (13.5) and Bob Nascenzi (7.63).

— Karen Billing contributed to this article