Candidates file for local school board elections

Multiple local school board seats are up for grabs this November.

The San Dieguito Union High School District board will see a shakeup this November as longtime board members Joyce Dalessandro and Beth Hergesheimer will not seek re-election. Dalessandro has been on the board for 24 years and President Hergesheimer has served for 16 years.

The candidate filing period officially closed on Aug. 7 but when no incumbent has filed, it is extended to Aug. 12. The ballot for Hergesheimer’s trustee area 2, which represents Encinitas and Carlsbad so far includes candidates Leslie Schneider (Encinitas Union School District board member) and Katrina Young (child advocate and chairman).

The Encinitas Union School District will also have new faces on the board as no incumbent is running for re-election. At press time, six candidates seek to fill the two open seats: Christian Sean Adams (environmental commissioner), Leonard Dimedio (parent, former mayor), Adina Georgiana Smarandache (doctor/author), Marlon Taylor (board member), Matthew Edward Wheeler (financial advisor) and Jodie Michele Williams (attorney). Rimga Viskanta will be stepping down after her four-year term.

The Cardiff School District will also have a contested election with four candidates vying for two available seats: Steven Grimaldi (software business executive), incumbent Nancy Orr, Rhea Stewart (STEM editorial manager) and Billy Mitchell Swinnea (consultant). David Ross will not seek re-election.